CAMBODIA: Day 1, Siem Reap

invadercee

Compared to the usual long-haul flights to Europe, a nine-ish hour flight to Cambodia feels like a breeze. Landing at the quaint little Siem Reap airport, I step off the plane and into the blazing Cambodia heat and humidity.

Home for the next few days will be the Soria Moria hotel. Clean, functional and the staff are friendly and helpful.

I have arrived at lunch-time which means there’s no delay in selecting where I will have my first Khmer meal. I choose a restaurant that seems to have a healthy mix of tourists and locals dining there and order a green mango salad and a coconut shake. The salad is a nice mix of sweet and salty flavours that will be a hallmark of the meals to come. I also slowly become obsessed with drinking coconuts over the course of the next few weeks.

Belly full, I do a quick…

View original post 387 more words

