In My Pancake Kitchen

An Evolving Life

barley_pancakes

Pancakes, crêpes, flapjacks, riddle cakes, galettes… My kitchen has been filled with the results of experiments with griddle batter cakes – savoury and sweet. Yes, it’s that time of year, nearly Shrove Tuesday – also known as Pancake Day here in Britain. It marks the end of Carnival and the beginning of Lent.

caudwells_mill_flours

Most of my experiments have dealt with non-wheat flours – buckwheat, barley, oat, chestnut. All but the chestnut flour came from the nearby Caudwells Mill in Rowsley, Derbyshire – now a listed building and historic museum in the heart of the Peak District. The golden barley pancakes (as seen in the image at the beginning of this post) were inspired by Finnish barley flatbread, Ohrarieska – see my earlier post At the Mill – made with barley flour, sweetened with a small amount of vanilla sugar and spiced with a pinch of ground cardamom. I was also…

View original post 674 more words

