Venezuela, An Open Letter From My Broken Country

Thought Catalog

15 de febrero de 2014

8841154_1328cae9ba_z Bolivar Desnudo via Yohan Arroyave

I’m a daughter, I’m a sister, I’m a friend, I’ve been loved, I have loved, I’m a student, I am Venezuelan. From all the things I am, the last one is the most important right now. Why? Because I am 22 years old and I’ve only seen one administration. I’ve seen two presidents, two because the first one passed. Is this democracy? I live in one of the richest country in the world, Venezuela, but somehow we are unable to produce food, so we are starving, we stand in lines of 2 hours for two kilos of flour, we don’t have toilet paper among other basic needs. But this is a democratic, successful government?

I live in a country where the president insults me for not following his political ideology, where I risk my life whenever I leave my house…

View original post 628 more words

